Awesome!

Designing the Parks

Even sleepy weeks at the Olmsted Center prove to be interesting! While much of the office was conducting fieldwork in Maryland, I was mapping and continuing to research my site: Long Island (Boston Harbor: Long Island, not New York: Long Island). If you’re a history geek with a short attention span like I am, you too probably find yourself falling down a variety of rabbit holes while doing research. Lucky for me, Long Island has many rabbit holes to explore. I figured I should share with you one of my favorite rabbit holes which has to do with Long Island and ingloriousshrugOperation Paperclip (I prefer Project Paperclip, I think the alliteration is nice, however it’ll be many years before anyone puts me in charge of naming secret military operations).

As WWII began to wrap up, the US government began to address the question of what would happen to the alliance…

View original post 329 more words

